2024 Recognition Awards

The CFA’s Recognition Awards celebrate individuals and franchise systems for their outstanding achievements, philanthropic endeavours, and contributions to the franchise community.

There are six categories to this award. CFA members can enter or can be nominated.

The CFA Recognition Awards celebrate individuals and companies for their significant achievements and continuous contributions to the franchise community. Franchising is a collaborative effort involving the support of one another in reaching our goals. The esteemed CFA Recognition Awards celebrate the dedication and commitment of individuals and companies who have contributed to the growth and strength of the Canadian franchising community and for their ongoing commitment to Growing Together®. We congratulate all the winners on their outstanding achievements.

Sherry McNeil, President and Chief Executive Officer, Canadian Franchise Association.

Winners of the awards were recognized at the CFA’s Recognition Awards Luncheon during the CFA National Convention on April 7, 2024, at the Westin Hotel in Montreal, Quebec.

Here are this year’s Recognition Awards Winners:

Hall of Fame Award (available to Franchise Systems only): Subway Canada

In recognition of Subway Canada’s outstanding performance over many decades in the Canadian franchise community and its demonstration of exceptional business performance, leadership, and growth.

Lifetime Achievement Award (available to Franchise System and Franchise Supplier Professionals): Ryan Smolkin (Posthumous)

In recognition of his exceptional and significant contribution and commitment to franchising in Canada and abroad, demonstrating vision, leadership, and excellence throughout his career.

Outstanding Corporate Citizen Award (available to Franchise Systems only): Osmow’s Shawarma.

In recognition of Osmow’s demonstrated commitment to community, hospitality, youth involvement, and generosity.

Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award (available to Franchise Systems Professionals & Companies): UCMAS Canada.

In recognition of UCMAS Canada’s exceptional leadership and contribution towards promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion in the Canadian franchising community.

Distinguished Franchise Support Service/Supplier (available to Franchise Supplier Professionals & Companies): Royal Bank of Canada (RBC).

In recognition of RBC’s exceptional efforts and contributions in supporting the Canadian franchise community through extraordinary involvement in CFA supplier and educational programs.

Volunteer Leadership Excellence Award (available to Franchise System and Franchise Supplier Professionals): Larry Weinberg, Cassels, Brock & Blackwell LLP.

In recognition of his dedication and contributions in volunteer leadership, as a CFA ambassador, and in service to the CFA member community.